Telangana wins. TDP, Congress routed

The by-polls in Telangana region proved that the people of this region would not rest until statehood is granted. The results to the 6 assembly elections were declared this afternoon in which Telangana Rashtra Samiti won 4 seats, BJP won the Mahabubnagar and independent candidate supported by TRS, Nagam Janardhan Reddy won the Nagar Krunool seat.

The fact that Telugu Desam party lost deposits in 3 seats shows that the people of this region continue to hate that party. Ruling Congress fared no better. It was relegated to third position in Station Ghanpur and second position in Kollapur – both its sitting seats.

TRS candidate Gampa Goverdhan won the Kamareddy seat by a whopping majority of 44,465 over his nearest Congress rival. TRS candidate Dr. Rajaiah won the Station Ghanpur seat with a margin of 32,638 over Kadiyam Srihari of TDP. Jogu Ramanna, who contested on the TRS ticket won the Adilabad assembly seat by a margin of 31,396 over his Congress rival. TDP, which held this seat fared miserably here. In Kollapur, TRS candidate and ex-minister Jupalli Krishna Rao won by a margin of 15,013 on his nearest Congress rival Vishnuvardhan Reddy.

In Mahabubnagar, the race was neck and neck until the last minute. BJP pulled up a surprise victory here over TRS by a razor thin margin of 1897 votes.

The results were an eye-opener to some Seemandhra politicians who hoped that the Telangana movement has subsided. These results proved that Telangana now has two strong parties, who are capable of winning elections single-handedly.

It is time for Congress to take a decision on Telangana and for TDP to come clear on its stand on Telangana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *