NDSA forms enquiry committee on Medigadda barrage issue

The National Dam Safety Authority (NDSA) has established an enquiry committee to investigate the Medigadda pillars sinking incident. Chandrasekhar Iyer, former chairman of the Godavari River Management Board (GRMB), will lead the committee. Union Minister Gajendra Singh Shekawat has granted approval for the committee’s formation.

Following a request from the Telangana government, the Jalshakti Department has been tasked with conducting a comprehensive inspection of the Medigadda barrage to identify defects and propose necessary restoration measures.

Against this backdrop, NDSA has assembled a committee chaired by Chandrasekhar Iyer. The names of additional technical experts on the committee are expected to be disclosed on Friday. Within a week, the committee will visit the Annaram, Sundilla, and Medigadda barrages. The Center has instructed the committee to deliver recommendations to the state government within a month regarding the subsequent actions to be taken.