KCR Re-elected as TRS Chief

Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao was on Monday elected unopposed as the Telangana Rashtra Samithi president in the party polls being held for the first time after the formation of the separate State of Telangana.

The election for the party chief was a mere formality as there were no other contenders for the same. In all, six sets of nominations were filed on behalf of Rao before Home Minister N Narasimha Reddy, who is presiding over the party polls. Ministers, MPs, MLAs and MLCs, adhoc committee members of the party and chairpersons of the zilla parishad were among those who filed nominations on his behalf.

As the deadline for filing of nominations ended, Reddy announced that Rao will be the party chief. An official announcement will be made at the party plenary on April 24.

Meanwhile, party leader M Hanumantha Rao was elected unopposed as the party’s Greater Hyderabad unit president at a meeting here.

Source: The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *