Cong MPs from Telangana meet Antony committee

New Delhi: Congress MPs from Telangana on Wednesday night met the A K Antony committee assuring it that people from Seemandhra region residing in the proposed new state will be given security and they should have no concerns on the issue. Ten Congress MPs from Lok Sabha and five from Rajya Sabha, including some Union Ministers like S Jaipal Reddy, met the Committee.

In the 40-minute interaction, they also impressed upon the central leaders for early implementation of the decision on formation of separate state of Telangana, noting that it was “well within the Constitutional framework and the party should not hesitate to implement it”, Ponnam Prabhakar, a prominent MP, said.

Concerns raised by some people from Andhra and Rayalseema regions about safety and security of people from those regions in Telangana were unfounded as they are “like our brothers”, they told the central leaders, Prabhakar said.

That people from Andhra and Rayalseema will not be safe in the new state is a disinformation campaign being spread by vested interests, they told the Antony Committee.

AICC General Secretary Digvijay Singh, Union Minister M Veerappa Moily and Political Secretary to Congress President Ahmed Patel are the three other members of the high-level committee headed by Antony.

The Committee, which was set up by party chief Sonia Gandhi to hear the concerns in the wake of the decision on Telangana, had yesterday met leaders from Seemandhra in the first such interaction.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *