CM KCR votes in Presidential polling at the Assembly building.

Completing his two-day tour to the flood-hit areas of Warangal and Kothagudem districts, the chief minister Mr K Chandrasekhar Rao directly proceeded to the Assembly building from Hanamkonda on Monday morning.

He stood in the queue and exercised his franchise in the Presidential election.

The TRS party conducted a mock-polling at the Telangana Bhavan, the party office earlier, and brought all the MLAs in buses to the Assembly building. Party working president Mr K T Rama Rao was the first to exercise his franchise.

The polling began at 10 am and concluded at 5 pm. The counting of votes will take place on July 21 and the new President of India will assume office on July 25.

Members of Parliament 727 members and nine MLAs got permission to vote in Parliament building but 730 exercised their franchise. A total of 99.18 percent of polling was registered in the Parliament building.

Meanwhile, in Telangana Assembly, the Congress Mulugu MLA D Sitakka reportedly voted for BJP candidate Druopadi Murmu being a tribal on instructions from her party leader A Revanth Reddy.

Three TRS members of Rajya Sabha – D Damodar Rao, B Parthasarathi, and V Ravi Chandra took the oath of office on Monday and took part in the Presidential election achieving a record polling on the first day in Rajya Sabha.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *