Administration of new districts to begin from Dasara, says KCR

The administration of the newly carved out districts will start functioning from Dasara onwards, Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao announced at the district collectors’ conference on Monday.

Addressing the collectors on the reorganisation of districts, KCR said, “Around 14 to 15 new districts will be created taking the total number of districts in the state to 24 or 25. The new districts will be formed keeping the convenience of the people in mind and not on the demands put forth by political parties”.

The CM said the final decision on the new districts would be taken only after holding a workshop. “The district collectors too should conduct proper study and prepare maps and proposals for the new districts,” KCR said.

Exercise still on for Hyderabad

Going by the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014, the Assembly seats in the state would be increased to 153.

This is a major reason behind the state government’s plan to increase the total number of districts to either 24 or 25, said the CM. “We are still considering various options on how to go about Hyderabad during reorganisation of districts. Suggestions are pouring in and the government will take a final decision only after a proper study,” added KCR.

“We will organise a workshop in Hyderabad after June 2 and take a final decision on the reorganisation of districts,” KCR said.

Source: The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *