TS to Have Five More Medical Colleges

In the next five years, Telangana Government proposes to establish one medical college each in districts where there are no medical colleges, Deputy Chief Minister T Rajaiah informed the Legislative Council on Monday.

The medical colleges will come up in Nalgonda, Medak, Karimangar, Mahbubnagar and Khammam districts. The government has decided to establish a health university in Warangal. It was the government’s endeavour to provide quality medical education to the students of Telangana. Students used to go to Vijayawada for various medical courses, but with the establishment of a health university in Warangal, medical students would be benefited within the state, he said. Rajaiah, who is also holding medical and health portfolio, said the TRS government issued orders for establishing a university for health sciences in the state, which is named as Kaloji Narayana Rao University of Health Sciences, in Warangal. The government has sanctioned Rs 5 crore for this purpose and an office was also set up, he said. Answering to a question raised by Karne Prabhakar and Bodakunti Venkateshwarlu, Rajaiah said there are 20 medical colleges in Telangana state–five government colleges, three minority institutions and 12 non-minority colleges–with total 2,950 MBBS seats.

On the issue of establishing a body on the lines of All India Institute of Medical Sciences in Telangana, the minister said that government has written to the Centre in this regard. As sought by them, the government has identified 200 acres of land and sent the proposal to the Union ministery of health for necessary action. A final decision has to be taken by the Centre, he added.

Source: The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *