Telangana seeks smart status for six cities

Telangana government has sought “smart city” status for six cities in the state. The government has shortlisted these cities and submitted to the Centre for approval.

The government has urged the Centre to include these six cities in the NDA government’s programme to develop “100 smart cities” across the country. The TS government has shortlisted Warangal, Nizambad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Ramagundam and Mahbubnagar for the purpose.

Officials selected these cities on the basis of population, which ranges from 2 lakh to 10 lakh. As per Census 2011, Telangana urban population comprises 3.64 per cent of national urban population and government hopes to get four “smart cities” for TS out of 100 across the country.

The TS government has also urged the Centre to develop seven municipalities as “satellite townships”, which are located within a distance of 100 kilometeres from Hyderabad.

It has shortlisted Medchal, Gajwel, Bhongir, Peddamberpet, Shadnagar, Vikarabaad and Sangareddy municipalities for the purpose. The Centre had already selected Vikarabad to develop it as a “smart city” under JNNURM by allotting Rs135 crore.

Source: Deccan Chronicle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *