Telangana registers a voting of 70.74% in assembly polls

The Telangana state that went to polls on Thursday registered a poll percentage of 70.74%. The highest poll percentage of 91.51% was registered in Munugode assembly constituency while the lowest of 39.69% was recorded in Yakutpura assembly constituency. In the state capital Hyderabad the poll percentage was just 46.6 per cent.

People in villages and smaller towns turned up in huge numbers and the polling went on till 7 pm. However, those in urban areas did not turn up as expected in good numbers and hence the polling percentage was low.

In 16 assembly constituencies located in agency areas affected by the Moist naxals, the polling was concluded at 4 pm, one hour before the designated 5 pm for all other constituencies.

The polling was held for all the 119 assembly constituencies in the Telangana state and the average polling percentage was 70.61 per cent as against 73.37 per cent of the 2018 elections. The election commission has arranged for webcasting in 27,000 polling stations and officials monitored the progress of the polling process.

But for minor clashes between the cadres of various political parties, the polling went on smoothly all over the state. Chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao exercised his franchise at his native village Chinthamadaka while minister KTR voted in Banjara Hills in Hyderabad.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao