Telangana Cabinet’s first expansion to take place today

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao would undertake an expansion of his council of ministers on Tuesday, the first since he assumed office on June 2 this year.

The swearing-in of the new ministers would take place at 11 am at the Raj Bhavan, a state government release said.

The Telangana Cabinet presently consists of 12 members, including the Chief Minister, and there is scope for inducting six more.

At present, key portfolios like power, energy and urban development are held by Rao himself and some ministers are also holding additional charges.

Rao had recently indicated that members of the ST community would have a representation in the Cabinet.

Districts like Mahabubnagar and Khammam do not have representation in the Cabinet at present and MLAs from the unrepresented districts are expected to be inducted in the Cabinet.

Currently, it is an all-male Cabinet and a woman member is likely to find place in the council of ministers.

The names of Jupally Krishna Rao, Laxma Reddy, Konda Surekha, Chandulal, Ramulu Naik, Tummala Nageswara Rao and Talasani Srinivasa Yadav are doing the rounds in political circles as possible contenders for the berth.

Senior TRS MLA Koppula Easwar was reportedly not happy with being offered the post of Chief Whip, but the matter has now been resolved, TRS sources said.

Source: PTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *