Medak district to be trifurcated

By: R Avadhani

Meeting the long-pending demand of the people of Medak, Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao announced here on Wednesday that the district would be trifurcated after its Assembly constituencies were reorganised to take their number from 10 to 13.

Following trifurcation, there will be Medak, Sangareddy and Siddipet districts, Mr. Rao said, addressing a public meeting at the culmination of an aerial survey of Ghanapur anicut on Singur project where the water of Manjeera river is stored. He also held a review meeting with the officials on government programmes of the local Assembly constituency.

On his maiden visit to the town after becoming Chief Minister, Mr. Rao said that the height of anicut would be raised to increase its storage capacity to irrigate 25,000 acres as against the existing 11,000 acres.

“Six or seven check dams would be constructed en route the anicut and water can be stored there. We can release water to the anicut from the check dams whenever required. Already, a sum of Rs. 19 crore given by the Japanese government was available and I am sanctioning another Rs. 50 crore for this purpose immediately. A government order will be released tomorrow,” he said.

Mr. Rao appealed to people not to have any apprehensions about the submergence of Kulcharam mandal on account of increase in the water levels in the anicut.

Referring to roads works and laying of pipelines for supply of drinking water from tanks, Mr. Rao directed the officials to entrust the works to sarpanches and MPTC on nomination basis for better results.

“This is a challenge to the elected representatives. Complete the works and see that women did not go out to fetch water in pots. Or else, you have to resign for your posts,” he said.

The Chief Minister sanctioned Rs. One crore for Medak town and Rs. 40 lakh for mandal parishad and gram panchayats towards development activities.

Deputy Speaker Padma Devender Reddy took out a rally in the town after Mr. Rao announced that there would be three districts.

Ministers T. Harish Rao, Mr. Jagadeeswar Reddy, ZP Chairperson A. Rajamani and others were present.

Source: The Hindu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *