LS Speaker rejects resignations of 13 Seemandhra MPs

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Friday rejected the resignations of 13 MPs from Seemandhra region.

Of 13 MPs whose resignations in protest against bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh were rejected, 10 belong to the Congress party, two are from the YSRCP and one MP is from the TDP. They submitted their resignation in the Speaker’s format after the Congress Working Committee (CWC) decided to divide the State to carve out Telangana.

The MPs also met the Speaker in person requesting her to accept the resignation.

The MPs whose resignations have been rejected are Lagadapati Rajagopal, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, Undavalli Arun Kumar, K. Bapiraju, SPY Reddy, A Sai Prathap, Anantha Venkatarami Reddy, Harsha Kumar, Magunta Srinivas Reddy, Sabbam Hari, Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, Mekapati Rammohan Reddy and K. Narayana.

It may be mentioned Congress MP from Vijayawada Lagadapati Rajagopal even approached the Delhi High Court seeking its intervention in acceptance of resignation. The case was scheduled for next hearing on October 22.

Source: Deccan Chronicle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *