KCR to Head TRS Party for Ninth Time

Chief Minister and TRS party President K Chandrasekhar Rao will be elected for the ninth time as the party president at organizational elections to be held on October 25.

A total of 18 sets of nominations were filed on his name and there are no contenders for the post in the party. The official announcement of his election will be announced at the party plenary.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) was founded on April 27, 2001, by K Chandrasekhar Rao with the object of securing statehood to the Telangana region. In united Andhra Pradesh, the Andhra leaders were heading the government successively and neglected the welfare and development of Telangana and hence the demand for statehood came up decades ago. Though the movement began long ago, it was only under the leadership of Mr. KCR, the objective was achieved in 2014.

The TRS party holds organizational elections every year from the village to the state level. However, it could hold plenary and elections in 2019, 2020, and 2021 due to parliament elections and Corona pandemic respectively.

About 6,000 members representing all 119 Assembly constituencies in the state are likely to take part in the plenary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *