KCR front runner for Indian of the Year Award

Telangana Rashtra Samithi president and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, who spearheaded the movement for separate Telangana State for 13 long years and finally achieved his goal in June last, is racing ahead to clinch the prestigious “Indian of the Year-Popular Choice for 2014” award being given by popular television channel CNN-IBN.

Telangana CM is no. 2 in leader board position of the CNN-IBN popular choice survey; only politician to figure among top 5

According to the “Popular Choice” leader board position as on Monday evening, KCR is in second position bagging 16 per cent of votes from people across the country who participated in the CNN-IBN survey conducted on popular social networking site Facebook. He stands next only to senior IPS officer from Kerala P Vijayan, who has been waging relentless battle against narcotics and striving for a drug-free society. Vijayan is leading the table with 22 per cent of votes. The award, sponsored by GMR group, will be presented at a Grand Finale to be held in New Delhi on January 31.

While popular Bollywood actor Aamir Khan ranks third with nine per cent of votes, Indian Army and National Disastrous Response Force, which had done tremendous job in relief operations in flood-ravaged Kashmir, jointly stood in fourth position with six per cent of votes. And the fifth position has gone to Hyderabad-born Satya Nadella, Chief Executive Officer of Microsoft, who got just five per cent of votes. Interestingly, the Telangana Chief Minister is the only politician from the entire country to be among the top five.

Apparently, the people have acknowledged his relentless fight in achieving Statehood to Telangana that catapulted him to power in May 2014 elections. The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year is presented annually to various Indians for their work in their respective fields. The awards are presented in six different categories of Politics, Sports, Business, Entertainment, Public Service and Global Indian. The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year – Popular Choice will be given to one of these six awardees, who will be chosen from the 35 nominees across categories basis the votes received from public through Facebook.

The awards adhere to a robust selection procedure in selecting the awardees that begins with an editorially driven nomination process overseen by Editorial Board leading to the final selection of winners by a Jury consisting of a select group of distinguished personalities.

Source: Metro India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *