Fee Reimbursement Scheme will Continue, Says Minister

Deputy chief minister Kadiyam Srihari assured poor students that they would be supported with fee reimbursement scheme to continue their studies. However, Article 371-D of the Constitution would decide the eligibility for the same, he added.

After deciding to rollback the controversial FAST scheme owing to barrage of criticism from all quarters, Srihari, who also holds the education portfolio, held a wide-ranging deliberations with the Cabinet sub-committee on Wednesday to workout modalities to implement the scheme without any hiccups.

The committee headed by Srihari includes ministers: G Jagadish Reddy (energy), C Lakshma Reddy (health and medical), Etela Rajendar (finance) and Jogu Ramanna (BC welfare). It is likely to submit a report to chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao, after holding another round of meeting to draft a final report.

During the course of the discussion, officials presented the figures of previous years relating to number of students enroled under the scheme and financial costs to the exchequer. Officials have been instructed to draw up estimates of students and the amount required for implementing the scheme for the current academic year.

Exam Conveners Appointed

The Telangana government appointed convenors for different exams.

Eamcet: NV Ramana Rao( JNTU Hyderabad)

Lawcet/PG Lawcet: MV Ranga Rao(Kakatiya University)

Ecet: M Yadaih( JNTU Hyderabad)

Icet: K Om Prakash (KU)

Edcet: P Prasad (Osmania University)

PECET: J Prabhakar Rao (Osmania University)

PGECET: A Venugopal Reddy (Osmania University)

Source: The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *