Damaracherla Power Plant is Named Yadadri

The thermal power plant proposed at Damaracherla in Nalgonda district will be called ‘Yadadri power station.’ Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Wednesday approved and announced the name ‘Yadadri’ for the power plant. He will lay foundation stone for the plant soon.

Officials said the Chief Minister has chosen the name of ‘Yadadri’ after the famous temple of Sri Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy at Yadagirigutta, named as Yadadri recently, which is also located in Nalgonda district.

This decision was taken by Rao at a review meeting on the power situation with TS Genco chairman and managing director D Prabhakar Rao, chief secretary Rajiv Sharma and others.

Rao asked the officials to ensure nine hours power supply during morning time for the farmers to harvest ‘yasangi,’ the second crop, next year. Rao said at present the State has 4,320 MW power availability and additional 3,000 MW power will be available to the State by March next.

According to Rao, the State would get 150 MW power from NTPC plant at Jajjar, 290 MW through Central Generating Stations, 810 MW through Gayatri power plant, 600 MW from Bhupalapalli KTPP and 1,200 MW from the SCCL’s Jaipur power plant.

“Apart from this, we will get hydel power,” he said. “By March next, we will have 7,000 MW power. Farmers should be given priority and they should be provided nine hour power supply during day time,” he said.

Rao also said that the Telangana State will be a non-power deficit State by 2016 and by 2018, it will be a power surplus State.

Source: The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *