Congress party forms a 12-member cabinet

The Congress party formed a 12-member cabinet on Thursday including Revanth Reddy as the chief minister of Telangana state.

The swearing ceremony took place at LB Stadium, attended by party leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, party president Mallikarjun Kharge, Karnataka chief minister Siddaramaiah and others. A large number of the public attended the ceremony.

Governor Tamilisai Soundarajan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 12 Congress MLAs.
Later Chief Minister Revanth Reddy addressing the people said his government would be a people-oriented government and people could freely approach any minister including himself. He said he would conduct Praja Darbar to meet people and take their petitions.

Later in the day, a cabinet meeting was held where the ministers and officials discussed the implementation of six guarantees and the way ahead.

Briefing the media after the cabinet meeting, Finance Minister D Sridhar Babu said they would be implementing two guarantees from December 9, commemorating the birthday of their leader Sonia Gandhi. The rest would be implemented in a phased manner.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao