BJP to kickstart T Poru Yatra today

The 22-day Telangana Poru Yatra by the state Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to commence from Krishna village on the banks of river Krishna in Mahbubnagar district today. BJP state leaders will flag-off the yatra, spearheaded by G Kishan Reddy, state president at 11.45 am. Later a public meeting will be held in the afternoon at Maktal village in which national president, Nitin Gadkari will also participate.

Telangana Poru Yatra would pass through ten districts covering 171 mandals, 986 villages, 36 municipalities in 88 Assembly constituencies, culminating at Bhadrachalam in Khammam district on February 9, after completing a distance of 3500 km (approximately).

BJP national leaders and Chief Ministers of BJP ruled states like Chattisgarh are expected to participate at various stages of the yatra. After conclusion of the Telangana Poru Yatra, G Kishan Reddy will make a visit to the Sammakka-Saralamma Jatara in Medaram, considered to be one of the biggest festivals in Telangana.

To celebrate the achievement, BJP also decided to hold a massive public meeting in State capital on February 11, which would be attended by prominent national leaders.

The main aim of the yatra is to make the public aware of the opportunistic politics of Congress and Telugu Desam on Telangana issue and also to mobilise public opinion to move a separate state Bill in the coming budget session of the Parliament, G Kishan Reddy said at a press meet on Monday. [HANS India]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *