5 MLAs defy Naidu, vote in presidential elections

TDP suffered serious embarrassment on Thursday as 5 MLAs belonging to the party defied the party decision and voted in the presidential election. Unable to decide between Pranab Mukherjee and PA Sangma, the party leader Chandra Babu Naidu had earlier decided to abstain from the presidential elections.

In spite of the party decision 5 MLAs – Harishwar Reddy, Venugopala Chary, Kodali Nani, Chinnam Ramakotaiah and Balanagi Reddy came to state assembly and voted according to their individual preference.

Harishwar Reddy and Venugopala Chary are planning to quit the TDP in protest against the party’s dubious stand on Telangana. Kodali Nani, Chinnam Ramakotaiah and Balanagi Reddy are planning to join YSRCP.

The behavior of these TDP MLAs has come as a fresh embarrassment to TDP, which is already reeling from massive erosion in its base in both Telangana and Seemandhra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *