Telangana people elect Congress party to power

In a nail-biting finish, the people of Telangana voted the Congress party to power this time. This is the third general election to the assembly after the formation of separate Telangana. The party could lure the voters with its arguments and allegations against the ruling BRS party. It also came up with promises that are termed as impractical only to unseat the present BRS regime. It would face the real test now after forming the government in the state.

Meanwhile, Mr KCR retained his Gajwel seat hitting a hattrick. Mr KTR won his Sircilla seat and senior leader T Harish Rao won his Siddipet constituency with a good majority. Many Congress party seniors lost the election – Jagga Reddy, Jeevan Reddy, Madhu Yashki and BJP leaders Eatle Rajender, Bandi Sanjay, D Aravind and Soyam Bapurao lost their seats.

The Congress (in alliance with CPI) got 64 seats, BRS 39, BJP 8 and MIM 7 seats in the 119 assembly of Telangana. Elsewhere in the country, the BJP came to power in Rajasthan, Chattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh states.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao