Lok Sabha polls in Telangana on May 13, counting on June 4

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has released the schedule for the General Elections 2024. The country will go to the polls in seven phases starting April 19, 2024, and the last phase of elections will be held on June 1, 2024. 

While the elections were conducted in phase 1 in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh in 2019, this time both states will vote on May 13 in the fourth phase. The elections will be held for 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, 175 assembly seats, and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh. 

The by-election for the Cantonment assembly segment, necessitated by the demise of MLA Lasya Nanditha, will also be held on May 13. The counting of votes will take place on June 4, 2024, across India. With the announcement of the schedule, the Model Code of Conduct is now enforced in the country.