Three more district collectorates ready for inauguration

Two Integrated District Office Complexes (IDOC) in Medak and Suryapet districts would be inaugurated by this month’s end and the one at Jayashankar Bhupalpally district is due for inauguration in the first week of August. With these three new IDOCs, a total of 25 collector offices would be completed in the first phase and five more offices are underway in the second phase. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao had planned and reorganised the districts. From 10 districts, now Telangana state has 33 districts. The CM has allocated Rs.1,649.62 crore for the construction of new offices in all the newly carved-out districts.

In the second phase, collector offices at Karimnagar, Narayanpet, Mulugu, Adilabad and Warangal are already underway. The officials were planning to complete all the offices by December. The state government has also taken up the construction of quarters for the officers working in the district collectorates on the same premises. Quarters were completed in 14 districts and the rest are underway.

Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao has inaugurated the new IDOCs in 23 districts so far. He also inaugurated the new district police headquarters as well. The inaugural functions were held in a festive environment with all religious prayer meetings. The new districts were carved out to bring people and officials together. Hitherto districts are unwieldy and required people to travel for long distances to see the district collector. Now one can visit collector’s office and return home the same day.

Praveen Reddy, a resident of Eturunagaram, said they have to travel three hours to reach Warangal collector office which is over 110 kilometres. It will be too dark by the time they return home even if their task is unaccomplished. They are forced to go the next day. “It is very tedious. Now we are happy as the collector office is in within reach,” he pointed out.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao