Telangana government to set up 17 new BC residential degree colleges

The state government issued orders to set up 17 new residential degree colleges that aim at benefitting 16,320 students. This takes the total number of residential degree colleges to 33 in the state. These colleges will come up in Gadwal, Nagarkurnool, Vikarabad, Sangareddy, Kamareddy, Adilabad, Asifabad, Mancherial, Peddapalli, Bhupalpalli, Mulugu, Mahabubabad, Hanamkonda, Kothagudem, Suryapet and Bhongir districts.

BC welfare minister Gangula Kamalakar thanked CM KCR for his kind gesture towards the BC students. A total of 1,82,440 students are pursuing education in 33 BC Gurukuls from 5th to 10th classes and in 16 Gurukul degree colleges. The total number of BC educational institutions in the state rose to 327 from 19 and the credit goes to the CM KCR, the minister said.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao