Road to Transformation: 36 works completed under SRDP, 12 more under progress in Hyderabad

The Strategic Road Development Programme (SRDP) initiated by the KCR-led Telangana government has changed the face of the ever-growing city of Hyderabad. The state government has laid a special focus on metamorphosing the road network of Hyderabad with concrete steps and a strategic vision. 

Envisioning signal-free junctions and smooth traffic flow, the BRS government has taken up as many as 48 works under phase I of the SRDP in Hyderabad. Out of which, the works of 36 projects were already completed and 12 other works are in various stages of completion. The flyovers, underpasses, Road Over Bridges (ROB), and Road Under Bridges (RUB) constructed under the programme have eased traffic congestion, reduced the distance, and shortened the travel time providing relief to daily commuters. 

The SRDP phase-I works were taken up with an outlay of Rs. 8,052 crores and so far an amount of Rs. 7,028 crores was spent including the cost of land acquisition. The speed and scale at which the road infrastructure projects are being executed in Hyderabad is unmatched. No other Indian city has built so many flyovers in such a short period. 

Here is a complete list of works taken up under the SRDP

Works completed

  1. Kamineni RHS flyover
  2. Kamineni LHS flyover
  3. Bairamalguda LHS flyover
  4. Bairamalguda RHS flyover
  5. LB Nagar LHS flyover
  6. Nagole flyover
  7. JNTU-Malaysian township flyover
  8. Balanagar flyover
  9. Biodiversity level 1 flyover
  10. Biodiversity level 2 flyover
  11. Jubilee Hills Road number 45 flyover
  12. Mindspace junction flyover
  13. Shilpa layout flyover
  14. Chandrayangutta flyover
  15. Bahadurpura flyover
  16. APJ Abdul Kalam (Owaisi Junction) flyover
  17. Shaikpet flyover
  18. Durgam Cheruvu cable bridge
  19. Punjagutta steel bridge (Graveyard)
  20. Punjagutta steel bridge (Chutneys Hotel)
  21. Ayyappa society underpass
  22. Chintalkunta underpass
  23. LB Nagar LHS underpass
  24. LB Nagar RHS underpass
  25. Mindspace junction underpass
  26. Khaitlapur ROB
  27. Kothaguda flyover
  28. Hi-tech city railway station RUB
  29. Tukaram Gate RUB
  30. Uttam Nagar RUB
  31. Uppuguda RUB
  32. Lalapeta ROB
  33. Malkajgiri Anandbagh RUB
  34. Rehabilitation and upgradation of Hyderabad ORR to Medak section
  35. Rajiv Gandhi statue flyover
  36. RTC X Road steel bridge flyover

Works under progress (Tentative completion date)

  1. Bairamalguda LHS Loop (October 2023)
  2. Bairamalguda RHS Loop (October 2023)
  3. Bairamalguda 2nd level flyover (November 2023)
  4. ROB at Falaknuma (March 2024)
  5. ROB at Shastripuram (March 2024)
  6. Nalgonda X Roads to Owaisi Junction Flyover (June 2024)
  7. Shilpa Layout to Gachibowli Junction (Stage-II) (June 2024)
  8. Aramghar to Zoo Park Flyover (December 2024)
  9. Uppal Flyover (December 2024)
  10. Amberpet 6 no. X Roads Flyover
  11. Six-lane road from Aramghar to Shamshabad junction
  12. Six-lane elevated corridor from Uppal to CPRI