Five Cities of Telangana to turn Smart

The Centre has selected five cities from Telangana to be developed as smart cities.

Hyderabad, Warangal, Karimnagar, Nizamabad and Nalgonda are on the list. The Union Cabinet had on Wednesday cleared the development of 100 cities as smart cities across the country. The Centre will spend Rs 6,000 crore.

Each city will get Central aid worth Rs 100 crore annually for five years. They will be picked via a ‘City Challenge Competition’ that will link financing with the cities’ ability to perform the mission objectives, an official said.

This could mean that Chief Ministers will have to pitch for funds. The criteria will revolve round the cities being able to deliver the last mile connectivity for 24×7 electricity, water, solid waste management and mobility options to the people.

The objectives of the Mission are meeting the challenges of growing urbanisation in a sustainable manner and ensuring the benefits of urban development to the poor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *