EC released notification for Telangana Assembly Elections

Hyderabad: The Election Commission of India (EC) has released the notification for the Telangana Assembly Elections. With this, the process of nominations has also started. Nominations will be accepted till November 10. Nominations will be received in the offices of the Election Returning Officers from 11 am to 3 pm on all days except Sunday. Nominations should be filed online and the application should be physically submitted to the Returning Officer.

Nominations will be scrutinised on November 13 and Novemebr 15 is the deadline for withdrawal. The final list of candidates will be announced on the evening of the same day. Polling for 119 constituencies in the state will be held on November 30.

The counting of votes will be done on December 3. The entire polling process will be conducted through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). Meanwhile, the EC has made it clear that the candidates must strictly follow the rules during the nominations. Each candidate can file a maximum of four sets of nominations from each constituency. A candidate cannot contest in more than two constituencies.

In the constituencies affected by left wing extremism (LWE) polling will be conducted from 7 am to 4 pm only while in other constituencies the polling will conducted from 7 am to 5 pm, the Election Commission said. It may be noted that the BRS chief K Chandrashekhar Rao announced candidates for all Assembly seats and has toured several Assembly constituencies addressing Praja Ashirwada Sabhas even though many opposition parties yet to declare their candidates. The BRS is moving forward for a hat-trick victory in the Assembly elections.

Election schedule

Election Notification – November 3
Nominations begin – November 3
Last date for nominations – November 10
Scrutiny of nominations – November 13
Withdrawal of nominations – November 15
Date of Polling – November 30
Counting of votes – December 3