Congress party released first list of candidates for Telangana assembly elections

The Congress party has released its first list of candidates for the ensuing Assembly elections in Telangana state. The list contained 55 candidates mostly which are non-controversial and not contended by too many candidates. The 55-candidate list accommodated 17 candidates belonging to the Reddy community, 12 BCs, 12 SCs, Velamas 7, Brahmins 2, Muslims 2 and STs 2.

Deviating from their much-claimed rule of one family one ticket and their Udaipur declaration, the first list has two families got two tickets. Former TPCC president N Uttam Kumar got a ticket from Huzurnagar and his wife Padmavathi got a ticket from Kodad. Similarly, Mynampalli Hanumantha Rao who just joined the party got Malkajgiri ticket and his son Rohit Rao got the ticket from the Medak constituency.

Many seniors were left out in the first list and they are hopeful of making it in the second list. Meanwhile, the Congress gave two tickets to the CPI – Kothagudem and Chennuru assembly constituencies while the talks with the CPI (M) are underway.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao