Six new judges were appointed to Telangana High Court.

The President of India cleared the appointment of six new judges to the Telangana High Court.

They are; Mr Venugopal, Mr B Nagesh, Mr P Karthik, Mr K Sharath, Mr J Srinivasa Rao and Mr N Rajeswar Rao.

With the chief justice of the High Court, Justice Ujwal Bhuyan, the total number of judges in Telangana High Court rose to 42 and there will still be eight posts vacant.

Chief Justice of India Mr N V Ramana took initiative in filling the vacant positions in the Courts across the country. Telangana also benefitted from the move.

When the Telangana High Court was formed on January 1, 2019, there were only 24 judges with many remaining vacant. The CJI suggested for appointment of judges taking the total to 42.

There are still eight vacancies in the High Court. For the first time, a person belonging to the SC community is assuming charge as judge of Telangana High Court.


By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *