KCR backs BRS sitting MLAs with only 8 changes in the list of 115 candidates

BRS party founder president and CM K Chandrasekhar Rao has released the first list of candidates of the party for the ensuing Assembly elections. Changes were made in eight Assembly constituencies and candidates in four constituencies were kept pending. New candidates contesting in the Assembly seats are K Chandrashekar Rao (Kamareddy), Anil Jadhav (Boath), Chalmeda Laxminarasimha Rao (Vemulawada), Kadiyam Srihari (Station Ghanpur), Sanjay Kalavakuntla (Korutla), Bhukya Johnson Naik (Khanapur), Uppal (Bandari Laxma Reddy), Madan Lal (Wyra) and Kova Laxmi (Asifabad), Late MLA G Sayanna’s daughter Lasya Nanditha will be fielded from the Cantonment constituency. The candidates for the Jangaon, Narasapur, Goshamahal and Nampally seats were kept pending. CM KCR will be contesting from Gajwel and Assembly constituencies.

Mr KCR said those sitting MLAs who did not get an opportunity this time would be accommodated as MLCs, MPs or the chairmen of corporations suitably later. They need not sulk and instead should work for the victory of the party. “If anybody is engaged in anti-party activities, they will be shunted out of the party. Ours is a highly disciplined party,” he said. He said the unavoidable circumstances prompted the changes in some seats. For instance, though Mr Ramesh was doing well in Vemulawada, he is facing legal issues concerning his citizenship row.

Mr KCR asserted that he is confident that his party will win 95 to 105 seats out of a total of 119 Assembly seats. Seeking blessings from the people, the CM said his party had put the Telangana state on a good track. The state tops the country in terms of per capita income, per capita consumption of power and various sectors. This was stated by the NITI Aayog and RBI reports and several union ministers went on record in Parliament about the progress made by Telangana state, he said.

The BRS party manifesto will be released in October at the launch of the election campaign in Warangal. The main focus will be to continue the ongoing pace of development and strive to improve upon it further. Dismissing the influence of Karanataka results in Telangana, Mr KCR said he appeals to people here not to believe in the promises of Congress leaders here. They failed in Karnataka in delivering promises. They are facing an acute shortage of power supply. The BRS is the first party to release the list of candidates for the forthcoming Assembly elections. The BJP, Congress and other smaller parties are yet to finalise their candidates.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao