BJP releases first list of candidates for Telangana Assembly elections

After a lot of hype and waiting, the BJP released its first of list candidates for the ensuing Assembly elections in Telangana. It contained 52 names as against the total of 119. A total of 67 are kept pending for release later. They are not so significant as they are made out to be. Huzurabad MLA Eatela Rajender was given two tickets – one to fight against CM KCR in Gajwel and his Huzurabad constituency. One Rani Rudrama was given the Sircilla ticket to contest against the BRS working president and minister Mr KT Rama Rao.

Party leaders Mr Kishan Reddy and K Laxman claimed that their party would give more seats to BCs and women. However, the claim can only be assessed only after the party releases its complete list. As of now, of the 52 candidates announced, it has 12 women, 17 BCs, 8 SC and 6 STs.

Meanwhile, the Congress party is yet to announce its candidates for the rest 64 constituencies. It had earlier released its first list with 55 names. The leaders say the exercise is taking time as they are holding talks with the CPI and CPI (M) over seat sharing. Even as these BJP and Congress parties are still engaged in finalising the candidates for the election, the ruling BRS party is much ahead in completing one round of campaign across the state.

CM KCR has started his campaign and addressed seven meetings so far and is expected to go around addressing public meetings in 100 constituencies after the Dasara festival.

By Gollapudi Srinivasa Rao